top of page
  • shannonferry99

Minimalism

'American movement in the visual arts and music originating in New York City in the late 1960s and characterized by extreme simplicity of form and a literal, objective approach.' I would describe my paintings in my current project as minimal because they don't include much detail. I painted faces that have very simple features or no features. One of incomplete paintings is a canvas covered completely in cartoon 'emoji' faces with no features. I used this idea because there are many articles that state 'social media is faceless', I am considering giving one of the emojis a face to suggest that the others are blindly following one person. Or giving each emoji face piercings and make up to suggest that people use those things to express themselves.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page