top of page
  • shannonferry99

Appropriation

'Appropriation in art and art history refers to the practice of artists using pre-existing objects or images in their art with little transformation of the original.' I find that my work links slightly to appropriation, I don't use pre existing objects, however I do use some pre existing images to manipulate and paint. My current work uses imagery of screenshots taken on phones and emojis that can also be found on phones. I think that using these images in my work is good for my project because people see the i

mages every day on their phones without thinking about it, however when they see it on a bigger scale they will think more deeply about it. My project wouldn't have the same development without this idea.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page